Emir Sanusi to preside over 10 LGAs as Kano assembly passed a bill for the creation of four emirates


The Emir of Kano, Sanusi Lamido Sanusi will now preside over ten local government areas, according to the new bill passed by the Kano State House of Assembly. The Kano State House of Assembly has passed into law a bill for the creation of four new emirates for Gaya, Bichi, Karaye and Rano.

According to the bill, Kano Emirate is now made up of  Kano Municipal, Tarauni,Dala,Nassarawa and Fagge local government areas. Other LGAs in Kano Emirate are Gwale,Kumbotso,Ungogo,Dawakin Kudu and Minijibir.

Karaye,Rogo,Gwarzo,Kabo,RiminGado,Madobi and Garun Malam local government areas are listed under Karaye Emirate. 

Bichi Emirate comprises of  Bichi,Bagwai,Shanono,Tsanyawa,Kunchi,Makoda,Danbatta,Dawakin Tofa and Tofa LGAs The lawmakers listed Rano,Bunkure,Kibiya,Takai,Sumaila,Kura,Doguwa,Tudun Wada,Kiru and Bebeji LGAs under Rano Emirate. Gaya Emirate is made up of Gaya,Ajingi,Albasu,Wudil,Garko,Warawa,Gezawa and Gabasawa LGAs. The implication of creating additional emirates is that the powers of the present Emir of Kano, Malam Muhammad Sanusi ll, will be reduced. The four proposed emirates are presently being headed by district heads and if upgraded, will have emirs as heads.

RECOMMENDED:  BREAKING! Democracy day to be celebrated on June 12 as Buhari shifted it from May 29


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.